Tabletop question

Anything not relating to Minecraft goes here.

Moderator: Lunysgwen

Tabletop question

Postby gigyas6 » Sun Aug 17, 2014 6:08 am

Not in the way you might think.

I've been making a tabletop RPG for a little over two years now. Of course, this has mainly been a little back-burner project, so it's not fully fledged, and nowhere near ready for anything resembling a playtest.

The game's concept can best be described as "Harvest Moon RPG", although it's a little more involved than that, and has other life-sim elements as well. Basically, instead of playing some mighty hero, you're just a normal, common folk. Things will still happen, but events will act more on the level of Little House on the Prairie rather than Game of Thrones.

Now that that's out of the way... I started delving into a bit of a class system in the vain of D&D but wasn't sure if that would fit or if that would even appeal to folks.

So, the question.

In a life-sim tabletop RPG, do classes seem more interesting and useful, or something more akin to a feature buying system?

Not making a poll since I would like to hear more intricate responses.
ggnaw.mcnode.net N@W Community server
gigyas6
Tribesman of the Mavi

In Game: gigyas6
Time Cloaked: Choice Pending

Re: Tabletop question

Postby charmisokay » Mon Aug 18, 2014 5:51 am

I think you should make it sort of like Small Word, where each player takes one card from two piles, one of them is a profession card and the other is a "special" card, or personality card. The profession card would have a picture of a male and female person of said profession, along with some basic stats/ablities, but the personality would also grant you some stats.
You might, for example, become an "Impulsive" "Salesman", The impulsive card would probably give you a small boost to the game's "Quickness" stat, as well as make you the first mover each turn. While Salesman might give you a bonus to something akin to charisma/willpower and better deals.